Messaging and Communication

Have more questions? Submit a request

In this article, we will cover everything you need to know about communicating with your team in the Homebase messaging feature via a web browser. 

 

How to turn messaging on/off

  1. Log into your Homebase account at app.joinhomebase.com
  2. Select Settings
  3. Check or Uncheck the box next to Team Messaging
  4. Save Changes in the top right 

Team Messenger.png

 

Using Messaging in Homebase on the web

  1. Log into your Homebase account at app.joinhomebase.com
  2. Tap the messages icon  Messaging  in the top right.

     

    Messaging

     

  3. To create a new message, tap the New Message at the bottom of the messages page.

     

    Messaging

     

  4. Message a Group to start a conversation with all managers, the entire team, or custom groups.

     

    Messaging

     

  5. Selected a Team Member to start a 1:1 conversation with anyone on the team.

     

    Messaging

     

  6. All conversations you’ve sent or received will be displayed on your Messages page. 

 

Group Messaging 

Homebase offers a number of groups pre-created for your business to help you communicate quickly and easily:

Entire Team Group

Messaging

  • Every team member at a location will be included in the Entire Team group chat. As employees join or leave your team, they’ll automatically be added or removed as participants.
All Managers Group

Messaging

  • Like the Entire Team chat, however, this group consists only of managers, general managers, and owners of a location.
Group by Role
Messaging
  • When roles are created in Homebase, the messaging feature will automatically create groups by role. This makes it easy for you to message all team members with the same role, leaving everyone else out of unnecessary information.
Custom Group
Messaging
  • In addition to the groups above, team members can create a 1:1 chat or group chats with a fixed number of participants. There is no limit to the number of team members who can be part of the conversation.

 

Using Read Receipts 

Read receipts are an excellent confirmation so you can know which teammates have read your message.

Messaging

  • You can view the number of recipients who have read your messages by viewing the count displayed next to the message bubble.
  • Tap directly on the read count number to see who has and hasn’t seen the message. 

 

Deleting Messages

Messaging

 

  1. Locate the message you’d like to delete
  2. Click the X next to the message to delete 

Please Note: You cannot delete another participant's messages.

 

 

Using Messaging in the Homebase Mobile App

  1. Open your Homebase mobile app.
  2. Tap Messages on the lower navigation bar.

     

    Messaging___Coms_1.png

     

  3. To create a new message, tap the New Message icon in the upper right corner.

     

    Messaging_and_Coms_2.png

     

  4. Tap Message a Group to start a conversation with all managers, the entire team, or custom groups.

     

    Messaging_and_Coms_3.png

     

  5. Tap Message a Team Member to start a 1:1 conversation with anyone on the team.

     

    Messaging_and_Coms_4.png

     

  6. All conversations you’ve sent or received will be displayed on your Messages page. 

 

Group Messaging 

Homebase offers a number of groups pre-created for your business to help you communicate quickly and easily:

Messagins_and_Coms.gif

Entire Team Group
  • Every team member at a location will be included in the Entire Team group chat. As employees join or leave your team, they’ll automatically be added or removed as participants.
All Managers Group
  • Like the Entire Team chat, however, this group consists only of managers, general managers, and owners of a location.
Group by Role
  • When roles are created in Homebase, the messaging feature will automatically create groups by role. This makes it easy for you to message all team members with the same role, leaving everyone else out of unnecessary information.
Everyone Working Today or Tomorrow
  • You'll also see that there are two other options: Everyone Working Today and Everyone Working Tomorrow. When you schedule your employees, the messaging feature will use that information to group your employees by the day!
Custom Group
  • In addition to the groups above, team members can create a 1:1 chat or group chats with a fixed number of participants. You can even have Homebase auto-select all team members who are scheduled to work today or tomorrow from the list for you. There is no limit to the number of team members who can be part of the conversation.

 

Using Read Receipts 

Read receipts are an excellent confirmation so you can know which teammates have read your message.

Messaging_and_Coms_8.gif

  • You can view the number of recipients who have read your messages by viewing the count displayed next to the message bubble.
  • Tap directly on the read count number to see who has and hasn’t seen the message. 

 

Copy & Delete Messages

Messaging_and_Coms_6.gif

  1. Locate the message you’d like to change.
  2. Tap and hold the message bubble.
  3. Select if you’d like to copy or delete your message using the buttons at the bottom of the page. 

Please Note: You cannot delete another participant's messages.

 

Shout Outs  

  • Shout Outs are a great way to let your team members know that you appreciate them! This feature allows you to give one Shout Out per day to another teammate. These shout-outs appear in the "Celebration" thread.

 

To Send a Shout Out: 

  1. Open your Homebase Mobile App
  2. Select More

    shout outs 1.pngx

  3. Select Team

    shout outs 2.png

  4. Select the name of the team member you would like to shout out

    shout outs 3 .png

  5. Select Give a Shout Out 

    shout outs 4.png

  6. Choose which badge you would like to give with your shout out and enter a note

    shout outs 5.PNG

  7. Select Share with Team

    shout outs 6.PNG

  8. Shout out will post in the Celebration thread

 

How to turn shout outs on/off

  1. Log into your Homebase account at app.joinhomebase.com
  2. Select Settings
  3. Check or Uncheck the box next to Allow employees to give each other Shout Outs
  4. Save Changes in the top right 

Team Messenger.png

 

 

Things to know about Shout Outs: 

  • Shout Outs can be sent once per day or per shift.
  • Team members can send one Shout Out per day, regardless of whether they are scheduled or clocked in for the day.
  • Shout Outs cannot be sent out on an automated schedule. 
  • Turning off "Shout Outs" will NOT remove the Celebration thread from view. All users will still be able to send messages in the "Celebration" thread.
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 25 found this helpful