Loading
×Sorry to interrupt
CSS Error
Refresh
Skip to Main Content
For Owners & Managers - Home
  • Home
  • Contact Support
  • ""

  • Jul 17, 2026
  • Knowledge

Title
How Homebase Billing Works

Article Body

How Homebase Billing Works - Common FAQs


How much does Homebase Payroll cost?


Billing PackageBilling Date
Standard Homebase Payroll
  • Billing occurs on the first business day of the following month.
Next Day Pay
  • Billing occurs on the first business day of the following month.

How can I update my payment information?

 

By default, your Homebase Payroll subscription is billed to your company’s bank account. If you’d like to update your billing method to a credit card, you can do so from the Plan & Billing page in your Homebase Account.

  1. Navigate to the Settings > Location > Plan & Billing page
  2. Click on the Manage next to the Payroll plan
  3. Choose a saved credit card or enter new payment details
  4. Click Save

What happens if a payment fails?

 

Failure to successfully pay your Homebase Payroll subscription will result in blocked payroll until a valid payment method is entered. If your monthly service invoice fails, you’ll receive an email notification, and your Run Payroll buttons will be grayed out. 

To unblock your payroll, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Pay > Payroll
  2. Click Update Payment Method in the red banner 
  3. Select an existing credit card on file, or enter a new credit card.
  4. Click Submit
    1.  
      1. Note: Once updated, you’ll see a green confirmation message, and payroll access will be restored.

What happens if I don't resolve the billing issue?

 

Payroll will remain blocked until the billing method is updated. This means you won’t be able to pay your team through Homebase Payroll until you’ve resolved the error.

Tax payments and filings will be temporarily paused. Any penalties or interest resulting from this pause will be the business owner’s responsibility.
Failure to resolve the billing method error within 90 days will result in account termination. 

Homebase will not file or pay any taxes on your behalf including 1099s & W-2s. 


How can I reinstate my Homebase account after a billing termination?

 

To reinstate your Homebase Payroll service, the following conditions must be met:

  • Full repayment of the outstanding balance on the account.
  • Any payroll taxes & filings that were due during the account’s termination will be your responsibility to resolve with the associated tax agency.
    • Note: Homebase cannot retroactively file taxes for the period when your account was inactive.
  • Any corrections required to earlier tax periods during the account’s termination will be subject to fees for amendments where needed.

Will I be billed by anybody else while using Homebases' services?

 

Homebase works with select third-party companies that oversee and manage the billing & payment process for certain services. This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Select offered benefits (background checks, health insurance, retirement, etc.)
  • Select POS partners (Clover, Square, Toast, etc.)
  • Select Payroll partners (ADP Run)

FAQ


  • How do I delete a credit card on file?
    • Users cannot delete their own card, a request must be made through our customer support team
  • How do I view invoice details?
    • Got to Settings > Plan & Billing > click View Invoice -> on the invoice page click 'Detail'
  • I cannot submit a new credit card, what can I do?
    • If the Update Payment page is not working, please contact our Customer Support team. They can send you a secure payment link to update your card.
  • Can Homebase provide a invoice for a future charge?
    • No. Invoices are generated based on actual usage. Day-1 charges allow for prorated changes and refunds within 30 days, so a future invoice cannot be finalized in advance.
  • Can I pay for Homebase's core features with a bank account?
    • No. Homebase only accepts debt or credit cards for the core plans. ACH bank accounts can only be used for Payroll.

      Note: Owners will always have access to the Plan & Billing page. Managers and General Managers will only be able to view it if they have the “Who can upgrade and downgrade this account?” permission enabled. If it is not enabled, they will not see the Plan & Billing option in the Settings tab.  

 

URL Name
Billing-FAQ

Trending Articles

  • Cash Out Overview for Employees
  • How to Contact Homebase Support
  • How to Close My Homebase Account
  • Cash Out Bank & Card FAQ
  • How to Adjust Time Clock Settings
  • Downloading, Exporting, & Printing Timesheets
  • How to Verify Your FEIN Verification & SS-4
  • Payroll with Homebase - Common FAQs
  • How to Edit Your Basic Info
  • How to Set Up Team Permissions
Loading
How Homebase Billing Works